Efficient and Stable Large-area Perovskite Solar Cells

Dr. Liyuan Han is thedirector of photovoltaic materials unit, National Institute for Materials Science (NIMS). He received a doctor’s degree from the University of Osaka Prefecture in 1988. He worked at SHARP Corporation since 1993 - and moved to current position since 2008. Through his career, he has renewed the world record efficiency of dye-sensitized solar cells (DSCs, cell and module) for several times. Recently, he had an interest in perovskite solar cells (PSCs) and also achieved world efficiency by morphology engineering. He is an inventor in more than 100 patents and an author in ca 200 scientific publications in the field of next generation solar cells. His current research interests involve fundamental research in PSCs, DSCs, and organic solar cells.


Title: Efficient and Stable Large-area Perovskite Solar Cells




Organic-inorganic metal halide perovskite solar cells (PSCs) have reached high power conversion efficiency (PCE) of 18~20%. However, all of the high PCEs were achieved by tiny cells (working area << 1 cm2) with very short lifetime. In this presentation, I will focus the discussion on two aspects: one is improving the reproducibility of device performance through controlling the morphology and uniformity of photoactive and charge transport layers in the solar cells; the other is increasing the long-term stability of device by developing new charge transport materials with low hygroscopicity and high carrier mobility. As a result, we achieved 15% conversion efficiency in perovskite solar cells (> 1 cm2) for the first time in the world through the official evaluation by the international standard testing center (Calibration, Standards and Measurement Team at the Research Center for Photovoltaics, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST))


韩礼元,1956年生,上海交通大学材料科学与工程学院教授,博士生导师,“千人计划”国家特聘专家。1988年毕业于日本大阪府立大学应用化学专业。1990-1993在日本Dainippon Ink & Chemicals Inc工作。随后,在夏普公司研究所工作15年,主要负责染料敏化太阳能电池的研究开发。2008年,韩礼元教授被聘请到日本物材研究机构,担任下一代太阳能电池中心主任。